Fresh Rotation + NARS ADLW Foundation Review

FRESHROTATION1

FRESHROTATION2

I’ve really been getting into the whole pinky nude and fresh makeup look for Spring! Here’s my recent acquisitions and what I’ve been loving as of late – definitely a far cry from my darker and stronger makeup looks, don’t you think? Here’s a full list of my current fresh favourites, all of which I would highly recommend. Let me know if you have any questions and I would be more than happy to reply to them.

Base – Stila One Step Correct Correcteur, MAC Prep + Prime Face Protect Lotion SPF 50/PA++, Urban Decay De-Slick Makeup Setting Spray, MAC Fast Response Eye Cream

Face – NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation, NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer, The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer, MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Perfectly Poised, NARS Blush in Reckless

Eyes – NARS Eyeshadow Palette in Fairy’s Kiss, Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade, Faux Fayc Fauxlash Mascara Duo

Lips – MAC Lip Pencil in Dervish, NARS Audacious Lipstick in Anita, Faux Fayc Fauxstix Matte Liquid Lipstick in Kult, NARS Lip Gloss in Guyanne

FRESHROTATION4

After weeks of trying the new NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation, I’m finally ready to post my review and thoughts on it. This is really exciting for me because it’s my first ever full review, so just know that I took this task very seriously and made sure to test it out with different variations (various application methods, used with a variety of products) to really understand how this product works. And I’m totes excited to share the word too, because it is such a good product. Before we move on, my skin type is combination/oily and where I live (Singapore), it is hot and humid all year round. Like, really hot and really humid. First up, these are the properties that NARS claims their new foundation to be capable of. Just to make it more straightforward, I’ve put a (✓) on those claims that I feel are mostly true. The others I find are slightly true, or I cannot say for sure is true for now (especially the last one).

  • Full, natural-looking coverage ✓
  • Feels weightless ✓
  • Long lasting 16-hour wear
  • Highly pigmented ✓
  • Builds and blends with just one drop
  • Advanced flexible polymers that move with the skin, providing extraordinary breathability and comfort ✓
  • Even Tone Technology to neutralise redness and dullness ✓
  • Scarlet Spiderling Root Extract to reduce discolouration and reveal brighter, more even skin over time

FRESHROTATION5

That is the amount of product a single pump dispenses. It’s not a lot at all, and being someone who likes to cake on my foundation, that’s definitely not enough! But during the live demonstration at the media preview, the makeup artist really did use only one drop on the model’s face… I think it all boils down to how much foundation you normally like to wear and the application technique. For me, I use a beauty blender sponge, so that’s probably also why I require more product. FYI, I use 1½ pumps and compared to other liquid foundations, that is still significantly lesser product.

The recommended application technique from NARS is to shake the bottle well (a must, as the formula is watery and separates in the bottle), pump a single pump of product on your palm to warm it up and then blend it in sections on the face with your fingers. I tried it this way at first, but found it to be uneven on myself. I’ve just never been good with blending foundations using fingers, but especially with this foundation, because it has a watery consistency and dries very quickly, it makes it even more difficult to work with and patchy if you’re not nimble enough. My favourite method of applying this is with a moist (not too damp) beauty blender sponge. It applies well with a foundation brush too, but the beauty blender is a god sent! If you don’t already have it, please do yourself a favour and get one now.

What I find most spectacular about the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation is how crazy pigmented yet light it is/feels. The consistency is really watery, but the coverage is insane for how light and sheer this feels. Also, I would have been put off by it supposedly being “luminous” as its name suggests, but I’m really glad that it dries to a semi-matte to matte finish with a luminous brightening effect that isn’t dewy or oily looking. This is a major plus for us girls with oily skin! With the hot and humid climate here in Singapore, this feels and looks amazing. With that said, because of our climate and my combination/oily skin, I don’t find it to be super long-wearing, at least not the supposed 16-hour wear it claims. For me, past 4 hours and I need a quick touchup, and after 8 hours, it has to come off. But it doesn’t feel as icky as other liquid foundations, that’s for sure. With a primer underneath and a makeup setting spray though, it really helps to make it much more lasting with minimal to no touchups.

FRESHROTATION3

This is my recommended foundation routine:

  1. Primer – MAC Prep + Prime, Stila One Step Correct or Benefit’s Porefessional Balm
  2. Foundation – NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation
  3. Concealer – NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer
  4. Loose powder – Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Powder
  5. Setting spray – Urban Decay’s De-Slick or All Nighter Setting Spray

FRESHROTATION6

Here, I’ve applied the foundation on my left hand and I have no products on my right hand. If you have dehydrated or dry skin, I would recommend that you prep and moisturise your skin properly before applying this foundation as it does cling on to dry patches and might settle into fine lines. It does settle into the fine lines on my hand, but my hands are really dry and line-y as compared to my face. But with moisturised and primed skin, the finish is flaaaawless on my face.

So what do you girls think? I’d say, if you have normal to combination or oily skin, you should definitely consider giving this foundation a shot, especially if you’re in a humid climate like I am because it looks good and feels so weightless throughout the stinking hot weather.

The NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation is available in 20 shades and retails for SGD$75.00. 

6 thoughts on “Fresh Rotation + NARS ADLW Foundation Review

  1. For the all day luminous weightless foundation, I was taught by NARS to use a drop and to apply as it is without warming the foundation up.
    And I find that it covers and goes on really well and I only require about 3/4’s of that one drop for the entire face. Perhaps you can try it without warming it up.

    For someone with really oily skin the foundation surprisingly lasts longer than other foundations and at the end of the day after cleansing a lot of foundation is still left on my skin which is usually not the case.

    Like

Leave a Reply

